Emergence Spotlights Round 2

December 1-31

Opening Reception December 9 from 6pm-9pm

Emergence is a group show that showcases photographers that are either new to the Dylan Ellis Gallery, or have new work. The artists will be competing for a spot in a four person two week gallery show at L’Espace Contemporain in April 2017. A best in show prize provided by Henrys will be chosen by the public.

 

Hugues Rochette

drago

Where do you want your work next

I want to do a project with a long creative process. In this past year, I photographed the same place’s. For this show, half of the pictures have been made at the Garden Botanique and the PARC Maisnonneuve-Rosemont (one is a side of the other). 
I want to travel to big cities, I would like to continue my blur project. Through architecture, you can see the past, the present and maybe the future of a town, its historical story. I have included an image in the show that demonstrates this. The movement of the camera gives the same aspect of a paint brush. I like to think that my images look like a painting.
I want to continue to produce my little Montréal story’s at 5 o’clock in the morning. See the rise of the sun. When the city is mine, because the others are sleeping. Maybe find somebody else to photograph. A co-worker perhaps.
By the way, I want to continue to see, to pictorialize the world… In your head.

Self-taught in photography, I have participated in many exhibitions in various cities, such as Venice, Italy and the Contact Photo Festival. I always wanted to be a creator, something I both fear and admire. Although I studied science and wood working, something always told me to try photography. My first camera was a D’70s Nikon and with it I took photos of Montréal, specifically the beautiful architecture. I discovered my own city during this time. After nine years, things have changed. Now I take self-portraits. Each, weekend, each holiday, I try different ways to capture the world by glancing it with my camera, recreate my own version of it.

Photography has continued to enrich my life. I have received feedback for my work, from many people around the world: England, New York, Italy, which has helped me grow as a photographer.
Now I’m in Toronto. I come from Quebec. And I’m this French guy, who is always wondering what is coming next.

Website

Robert McIntyre

1S4A0391_1.jpg

Who or what inspires you

I get inspiration from looking at great photography. Just as any type of music can be great, so too with all styles of photography. Looking at gallery shows, magazines, books and the web can be inspiring. Anything from the early history of photography until today there is no shortage of images that challenge or impress. My influences are those photographers who bring their own particular vision and style to produce remarkable photographs. I also get inspired when reading the story behind the camera. A good read is “Witness in Our Time : working lives of documentary photographers” by Ken Light. It describes how Dorothea Lange was able to gain the trust of migrant workers in the 1930’s, or how Sebastiao Salgado works when on a project. These photographers drive, determination and insight are truly inspiring Some images are so powerful they become something else, they seem to transcend the medium. That is why photography is so powerful. It is the closest we have to a time machine that records and preserves the present for the future to see. Photography has become so pervasive and intertwined in our lives that it is hard to imagine a world without it. What is also worth noting is that having seen millions of images over sixty plus years I am still amazed when seeing a unique or moving photograph. The medium continues to adapt and evolve. And that is inspiring!

I am a child of the 1950’s, third of four children of two WWII veterans.As a businessman our father travelled extensively, and we lived in various cities in Canada as well as five years in Australia. After graduating high school in Winnipeg I came to Toronto to study photography at Ryerson. On leaving Ryerson my career started with three years employment at Agfa’s distribution centre here in Toronto. I then began seeking work as an assistant/photographer and was fortunate to join with Masao Abe for ten years and Shun Sasabuchi for fifteen years. I am very grateful to both these photographers as they helped me grow both professionally and artistically.During this time I was pursuing my own work, primarily event and street photography.

For the last five years I have been shooting product photography as well as my own personal projects. At present I am scanning and printing archived black and white negatives from the 80’s and 90’s, and have recently completed a series of photographs on Halloween that were taken over the last three years.

Pavel Muller

pavel-muller-rapids-ago-series-8110051

How do you see your work emerging

I was drawn to photography by my love for nature and a desire to capture the feeling I had when being surrounded by natural beauty on my canoe trips. Over the years, my interests evolved into a strong desire to express myself artistically. My inspiration comes increasingly from the late 19th century to present­day paintings and less so from photographs. The advent of photography forced painters to abandon total reliance on true­life paintings. Painters are forced to rely more on their imagination and creativity to create images that represented more their vision, thoughts and emotions. I think we, photographers, are now faced with the same situation, as billions of cellphone images are crowding us out of representational photography. I welcome this shove. I see photography as a tool similar to a brush, a pencil or charcoal and I wish to take my photography to wherever my creativity, thoughts, emotions, sense of humor and views lead me. Increasingly I create collages from my photographs and introduce other modifications which often result in images that do not reflect what the camera has captured. For example, I am currently collaborating with a painter. I photograph her images created with acrylic or oil paints and combine them with my own photographs. We try to create a unified whole which are more engaging and expressive than the parts from which these collages were created. My aim is to continually evolve and to learn to appreciate art in the process.

Pavel was born in Czechoslovakia (now Czech Republic) and came to Canada at the end of his teenage years. He is now a retired scientist. His interest in photography started during his university studies and resumed after his retirement following a long hiatus. He started as a landscape photographer, but he now photographs to express his thoughts, ideas, moods, interests, views, attitudes, sense of humour and perception of the world around him. The inspiration comes increasingly from modern visual art and less so from photography alone. He has been a judge in photography competitions for the Greater Toronto Area and he has also judged international competitions. His work has been presented in daily news media and photo magazines. He has also exhibited in several galleries in Hong Kong and in Ontario, Canada. In 2016, he has participated or is scheduled to participate in several group exhibitions in Toronto: Focal Forum exhibition during the Scotiabank Contact Photography Festival (May 14­June 4), TWAC­CNE Juried Art Show at CNE (August 19­September 5) followed by an exhibition at Artworld Fine Art in (October 3­12) and the juried Emergence exhibition at Dylan Ellis Gallery in December.

Website

 

Leave a Reply

