Emergence Spotlights Round 3

December 1-31

Opening Reception December 9 from 6pm-9pm

Emergence is a group show that showcases photographers that are either new to the Dylan Ellis Gallery, or have new work. The artists will be competing for a spot in a four person two week gallery show at L’Espace Contemporain in April 2017. A best in show prize provided by Henrys will be chosen by the public.

Brendan Meadows

Japan1.jpg

Who or what inspires you

People inspire me on a daily level. There isn’t a day that passes that our existence here doesn’t fascinate or drive my curiosity. I’m especially drawn to the thumbprint of our time upon the landscape around us. As much as a portrait sitting can feel rewarding from the studio or location setting, I feel there those same principles can be reflected in a landscape or city environment. There is a much to say about your identity by how you live and go about your day, your interactions with the city around you and the place you call home. 
We are incredibly enthralling to watch and observe, never dull moment and a continual source of wonder for me as an artist. 

In 1986 I was given my first Polaroid camera and captured Princess Diana on my second exposure during Expo ’86 in Vancouver. She was 23; I was 10. That was the beginning of my fascination with the human subject and I’ve been illuminating the the most captivating facets of people ever since.
 I thrive on challenge and pushing the conventional applications of my craft. Throughout this mission, I’ve contributed photographs to Vice, Inventory, and Rolling Stone, and many other publications. I count among my most successful collaborations shoots I’ve conducted with Charles Bradley, Leon Bridges, Saul Williams, Bat For Lashes and Ronnie Hawkins. Today this work continues with portrait and entertainment photography for networks such as FOX, AMC, A&E and CW.
Over the years, I’ve founded three successful and influential art projects: Drawn to Develop, Front Lines and Covet Exhibition.
  Simply put, I am an inspired wanderer; a collector of people and places; a catcher of beauty as it changes and thrilled that my career continues to offer opportunities to create high calibre work with engrossing subjects across an array of media and platforms.

John Wallace

John Wallace-Inverted Reality-Towards the Tower.jpg

How do you see your work emerging

This is a difficult question for one who sees himself flaneuring through life. It suggests vision and conscientious planning. Oh, there is no doubt that I have general goals and may broadly map out direction, but once embarked on a journey I prefer to let my will take me where fancy chooses to explore or linger. Often an avenue will serendipitously appear and if I am sensitive to the possibilities, I will turn and wonder along this new and enchanting pathway.

My interest in photography began as an adjunct to travel. To experience is to revel in the glory of the world and photography is my way of celebrating. My goal is to encapsulate the magic I felt being in a place. Seldom am I in the right place at the right time; so through the exercise of my eyes and imagination I seek to convey the spirit of a scene. In the stillness of the night I will ponder the composition, seeking to “concentrate it’s essence” and in doing so, relive the experience. I welcome liberation from the darkroom and the possibilities of modern computer photo editing tools. Seeing an image emerge from an ink jet printer is still as amazing to me watching shape and tone appear on blank paper in a tank of developer solution.

On this journey, there are 3 paths I venture along – increasing my skills in photo editing tools, clarifying the focus of subjects that appeal to me and developing a compelling approach to treating that subject matter – architecture, statuary, the interface of works of Man and Nature, reflections in glass, in the glistening components of cars and in water – and finally, exploration of technique and abstraction such as image reversal, as exemplified by my images in this show and camera manipulation.

An avid amateur photographer for over 35 years. John Wallace has been a long time member of the Beach Photo Club, serving as Exhibition Coordinator, Program Chair, Membership Coordinator and President. His images have won many awards and he has participated in numerous group exhibitions. He is one of the original members of the F8 Photography Collective In recent years not only were his images included in the Aids Committee of Toronto’s Snap Silent Auction, but he has also been a judge and volunteer assistant.

Alan Dunlop

Dunlop3415 copy.jpeg

Where do you want your work next

Just as when I set out on my walks through Toronto’s parks and ravines, I don’t have a pre-conceived destination for my art. I am inspired by the ever-evolving world around us and want to continue capturing its many complex stories in images that portray an altered, dynamic experience. The thrill, for me, is always to take the less-travelled path, to push my limits and to see the world’s evolving realities.
The walks and the art, however, are solitary. So, I am excited to share my work in this upcoming show and to have an opportunity to bring these perspectives forward, to elicit responses and to stimulate conversation.
I’m looking forward to December show, and seeing where this experience will lead me and my art.

Alan was born and raised in Ottawa. In the ‘70’s, he moved south to the Toronto area to pursue his dream of becoming a photographer.
For over 40 years now, Alan has been a “tourist” of sorts, exploring his environment with his camera — first as a student at Sheridan, then as a wedding photographer and by the mid-seventies as a newspaper photojournalist. Now, as a fine art photographer, Alan creates interpretative imagery, exploring and redefining the reality of his environment.
As photography evolved, Alan embraced changes in technology, including using photo-editing techniques to enhance and animate his art. In the early ‘90’s, Alan moved from photojournalism to become an imaging technician at The Toronto Star where he specialized in post-production work. He later became an artist and designer in the paper’s creative department. Since 2005, Alan has been pursuing a more personal vision of photography, using altered, fragmented images to discover new perspectives and evoke alternative realities.
When Alan is not busy working on his art, he dedicates much of his spare time and photographic skills to doing volunteer work for a number of Toronto-area charities that, through music and the arts, enrich the lives of children facing personal and life challenges.

Leave a Reply

