Matthew Plexman: Clearcut Q&A Pt 2

November 2-30

Opening Reception November 10 6pm-9pm

Uncomfortably beautiful, large format panoramas of clear-cuts in Northern Ontario. Plexman presents these massively altered and rearranged landscapes not for what was taken away, but for what the loggers left behind, and how Nature reclaims and repairs the damage.

matthew-blog-image-3

How did you start out photographing? 

When I was 11 years old, my sister gave me a plastic “Diana” camera for my birthday while our family was on a weekend camping trip to Pinery Provincial Park.  This was the start of my love for landscape photography- I had to go to the park gift shop twice to buy extra film.

What other projects are you working on?

I have a larger project that I have been working on for several years called “Peripheral Vision- At the Edge of Canada”.  I’ve photographed panoramas in the Yukon, Northwest Territories, Newfoundland and BC.  My aim is to build a body of work that encompasses the whole periphery of Canada, captured in the way that we naturally see landscapes- with our 180 degree peripheral vision.

plexmancamp_0087

What other photographers do you admire? 

I went to Ryerson to study photography after high school.  One of my classmates was Edward Burtynsky.  I see his work on the walls of many of the large firms that I visit in my day job as a corporate photographer.  I have a huge admiration for his work.  It keeps evolving and getting better, but I can trace its roots back to what Ed was doing when we were at Ryerson.  He is a photographer who has had a very focused and singular vision over the course of his career.

camp-6-of-71

What’s one piece of advice you could give to new photographers?

Pick a project, an idea, a particular subject matter.  Keep working and refining it.  Show your work and get feedback.

Leave a Reply

