Emergence Spotlights Round 4

December 1-31

Opening Reception December 9 from 6pm-9pm

Emergence is a group show that showcases photographers that are either new to the Dylan Ellis Gallery, or have new work. The artists will be competing for a spot in a four person two week gallery show at L’Espace Contemporain in April 2017. A best in show prize provided by Henrys will be chosen by the public.

Brittany Fleming

street-19.jpg

Who or what inspires you

There are many photographers, artists, poets, writers, actors, and activists who inspire me. Though they all open my mind to new questions and possibilities, I would have to say unequivocally that my Aunt Terri has been my biggest inspiration. She is one Hell of a woman to look up to! I remember first meeting her as an adult and noticing how striking and stunning she is, and I’ll never forget the sound of her heels clicking anytime she entered a room. Always full of surprises, you can probably imagine what a shock it was to me when I found out that this elegant woman actually works as an electrician, and is skilled in most trades; mechanics, carpentry, welding, plumbing. It was this revelation about my Aunt Terri that made me take a closer notice to who people really are without placing judgment on them by how they look or seem. And her abilities don’t stop there! Over the years, Aunt Terri has taken up hat design, yoga, meditation, and world travel all while raising two super cool children and helping me, her niece. Her ambition to always learn and better herself, to give back to her community and her love for random acts of kindness drives me to be a better person. I know and feel that this persuasion is what will inevitably make me a better photographer. Aunt Terri is my muse. Without her guidance and gentle shoves in the right direction, I wouldn’t have the courage to show my work. My biggest fear is to become this generation’s Vivian Maier, found in 40 years with millions of unseen photos on an inconspicuous external hard drive. Aunt Terri has never ceased to believe in my potential and continues to help me achieve more than I ever could dream of accomplishing on my own.

Born and raised in rural Ontario, Brittany spent most of her adolescence outside experimenting with a camera. It was during a three-month backpacking trip to Europe that her interest in travel and photography was sparked. “Being able to combine my passion for travel with photography opened up a new way of thinking. I came back to Canada knowing what I wanted to do.” Leaving Fergus behind, Brittany left for school in Ottawa where she completed a two-year photography program at Algonquin College. Before graduating, she started her career as a Lifestyle Photographer with Union Eleven, where she currently works. Her most recent trips to Nicaragua, Peru & California were spent hitchhiking, riding chicken buses, and living out of a van named “lady Luck.” On these trips she was able to connect with locals. She has the ability to connect the camera to the heart, to feel the subjects and their story. An anthropologist at heart, Brittany aims to show the social landscape of her time. Deriving her photographic influences from Robert Frank, Diane Arbus, Walker Evans, Garry Winogrand, and Lee Friedlander, Brittany always keeps the human condition in focus. Brittany’s spending the summer documenting her experiences on farms, in a series titled “Death of a family farm.” She wanted to get back to her roots and show the struggles of a farmer and tell the story of the community. She will be showing her work at the Alternative Photo Revolution Show in the spring of 2017.

Website

Evan Dion

01VegasMall2v2cr (1).jpg

Where do you want your work next

I hate to pin myself down, so I’ll go with this: further.

Evan Dion is a Toronto based photographer. A graduate from Ryerson, his work has taken him throughout Canada, U.S.A, Europe, Asia and The Caribbean.

If memory serves me correctly, I believe my first formal photography assignment in school was to take pictures with a pinhole camera. And although I’ve worked and experimented with all sorts of cameras and photographic systems over the years, I’ve always come back to the pinhole. The anticipation and uncertainty of not knowing exactly what will happen between the time the film is exposed, to the production of the final print, are the most compelling aspects of using this methodology.  I enjoy the time, thought and effort needed to employ this traditional method which is in sharp contrast to the instant gratification offered by the numerous digital devices commonly used today.

I’ve always been interested in capturing subjects that I find to be monumental in scale, both natural and man made. And not only subjects that could be considered obviously appealing, but also those that somehow don’t immediately grab one’s eye or attention, which upon closer examination reveal something quirky or mysterious.

Raul Rincon

rincon_raul_fousek_lake_01

I was born in Cartagena, Colombia into a family of artists. Both of my parents are painters, and both of my grandparents were photographers. At a very early age I was given my first camera, which I learnt to use shooting with my grandmother in her studio. My grandfather was his developer and printer, so with him I began playing in the dark room with large format B&W negatives. Later on and after moving to Canada, I studied under Struan and Yuri Dojc.

I have won several photography awards, including the Photo de Mode 2007 by Photo Magazine (France), the Applied Arts Annual Award for Portrait Photography in 2006 and the Applied Arts Annual Award for Landscape Photography with the Series “Wovs and Storms” in 2011. In 2013 I won the SNAP! Best Streetcase/ Documentary Photograph Award with the image Double Bass Walker, which was sold by auction at the SNAP! Gala in support of ACT’s vital programs and services for people living with HIV. Aditionally six other images won the 2013 Applied Arts Awards, including two Best Landscape and one Best Personal Photography Work.

Leave a Reply

